Noteworthy January 2023 SFF book releases

This is a list of books that I am personally looking forward to, that release this month. By no means is it exhaustive, there are way too many books to keep track of. I will review quite a few of the books mentioned here, but feel free to check them out, book covers link to Goodreads!



It’s no surprise I love the Wayward Children series and every January, I look forward to reading a new entry. If you’re looking for bite-sized books that talk of acceptance and identity, look no further. I really enjoyed this entry and I will share my review soon. If you haven’t started on it yet, don’t fret, they can be read in any order, but I would advise you to start at book one.



Wuxia, anyone? Don’t forget to check out the first book in the Sword Maiden and The Moon series, authored by Alice Poon, out this month! This is on my TBR for the month.



This is the first book in the Alamaxa duology, set in an Arab-inspired world. I really enjoyed reading this truly feminist book that focuses on women’s suffrage, and will share my review soon. I absolutely recommend it to anybody looking for a fast and impactful read.



This is the most charming book I have read in a while, and you can expect a gush review for it here soon. I would advise you to get a printed copy, since it is so beautiful, and I think it absolutely worth it.



This beautiful looking debut by Hannah F. Kaner follows an ensemble characters including a Godkiller and a god of white lies, and features a diverse cast of characters.



This is the third book in the Hall of Smoke series of epic standalone fantasies. Yes, a series of standalones, so you can start here if you haven’t read the others already.



This is a heartwarming science fiction book pitched for fans of Becky Chambers and Martha Wells, so you know I’m in the queue already. This is out in the U.S. and Canada via Tor Books this month and will be out in the U.K. via Orbit Books next month,



I loved this book and I am so glad to see it being launched in paperback this month, with a slightly different cover. If you get it now, you’ll be caught up before the second book comes out in April. I can’t wait.



This is the first in a YA fantasy series set in an Arab-inspired world that I wanted to read simply because of the phrase “tea magic” in the pitch. I will share my detailed review here when I am done reading my ARC, but early reviews so far have been extremely promising.



This is a short, 90 minute read. The author has stated that all royalties from this will be used for a charitable purpose, so I highly recommend getting this. Quenby writes fun stuff, and you’ll. be supporting a very good cause.



This is the third book is the very acclaimed The Bound and the Broken series, and worth a try for fans of classical fantasy.



This is the second book in the action packed Vagrant Gods trilogy, the first of which showed how an usurped prince was made a legend and a figurehead for the rebellion against an empire and the brutal affects of war and colonisation.


Not a WordPress user? No problem! Subscribe using your email here:

5 thoughts on “Noteworthy January 2023 SFF book releases

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started