Monthly TBR: May 2023

I’ll start this monthly TBR with a bit of much-needed honesty. I used to be a book monogamist, and I lately find myself jittery if I don’t have at least a few going on at the same time. While they all don’t get the same amount of attention regularly, I constantly shift focus from one book to another, and that’s cutting into my reading time a bit. Until I settle into this new routine, I am probably going to do a worse job with sticking to my plans than previously, so this will be more of a list of titles I’ll shuffle around, and hopefully, I’ll also figure out how I want to approach my reading. Fingers crossed.


Paradise-1 by David Wellington Sons of Darkness by Gourd Mohanty Dragonfly by L. R. Lam

The Burnings by Naomi Kelsey The Shadow Cabinet by Juno Dawson The Mahabharata: Volume 1, translated by Bibek Debroy


Of all these, only the first volume of the Mahabharata is a non-ARC. I’m trying to clear my ARC backlog as much as possible, but when I find a new translation of an epic I grew up with, I can’t resist. So I am going to try to spread out my read of that book over the month. I am likely to want to binge through it and just get the next volume, but I will try to resist.


Do we have anything in common on our TBR this month? Let me know! If you’re curious about any of these books, you can click right on the cover to head to it’s Goodreads page.

View my monthly wrap-up for April 2023 here.


Not a WordPress user? No problem! Subscribe using your email here:

6 thoughts on “Monthly TBR: May 2023

Add yours

  1. I’ve always been a book monogamist until recently too. The transition to reading multiple things at once has been a bit rocky for me at times, and I do miss the single-minded focus of only having one book going at a time. Juggling several can get really chaotic, and it is usually the reason I stray from my TBR and get behind on ARCs. lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am having a bit of a hard time, not to forget that I also lost a lot of time because I spend at least a third of my reading time panicking with indecision over what 3-4 titles to best read together, and if one of them annoys me a bit, I suffer. This is also why I’m thankful for everyday I don’t stray LMAO

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had a hard time with this too. What made it work for me is even they were two completely different genres. This is especially true if one is a long fantasy. I balance it out with a short thriller, for example. Also, I can’t wait to read dragonfall.

        Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started